Published by – Goutam Kumar Jena on behalf of
Category - Travel & Guide & Subcategory - Temple Travel
Summary - 12 most auspicious shiva temple in India
Who can see this article:- All
Your last visit to this page was @ 2019-06-10 11:09:53
Create/ Participate in Quiz Test
See results
Show/ Hide Table of Content of This Article
See All pages in a SinglePage View
Article Rating
Participate in Rating,
See Result
Achieved( Rate%:- NA, Grade:- -- )
B Quiz( Create, Edit, Delete )
Participate in Quiz,
See Result
Created/ Edited Time:- 04-06-2019 18:06:30
C Survey( Create, Edit, Delete) Participate in Survey, See Result Created Time:-
Page No Photo Page Name Count of Characters Date of Last Creation/Edit
1 Image 12 Jyotirlingam 4873 2019-06-04 18:06:30
Article Image
Details ( Page:- 12 Jyotirlingam )
The Shiva is worshipped as Jyotirlingam. Jyoti means Radiance of Divine Light & Lingam is Oval shaped symbol.  Different religions worship Shiva Baba as The God .  Let’s take example of major religions.

For Example , in Christianity , The GOD is referred  as Divine Light (  means  Jyoti )  . In Islam also , Allah ( The GOD )  is referred as An- Nur ( divine Light )  means Light or, Jyoti. In Buddhism , they meditate to Prakash or light  i.e. Jyoti.  In Sikh religion also,  The God is called  as Waheguru  ( wonderful Teacher ), who is  as Omkar Swaroop  ( divine light ) .

It means , at different times different prophets or, godly messengers or, angels or, monks or, philosophers appeared  at different parts of this globe to tell same message about the almighty God through their holy books & in different languages that , the God is one & referred as jyoti or light.

Almighty GOD is Worshiped as Shiva in INDIA in various temples . 12  ancient Shiva temples in India are known as 12 Jyotirlingam. The Somnath temple is believed to be first Jyotirlingam temple built by the King First Vikramaditya , which is destroyed & rebuilt many times tilldate.
द्वादश ज्योतिर्लिंग स्तोत्रम् ( Sanskrit description of 12 Jyotirlingas )
सौराष्ट्रे सोमनाथं श्रीशैले मल्लिकार्जुनम्।  उज्जयिन्यां महाकालमोङ्कारममलेश्वरम्॥
परल्यां वैद्यनाथं डाकिन्यां भीमशङ्करम्।  सेतुबन्धे तु रामेशं नागेशं दारुकावने॥
वाराणस्यां तु विश्वेशं त्र्यम्बकं गौतमीतटे। हिमालये तु केदारं घुश्मेशं शिवालये॥
एतानि ज्योतिर्लिङ्गानि सायं प्रातः पठेन्नरः। सप्तजन्मकृतं पापं स्मरणेन विनश्यति॥ 
एतेशां दर्शनादेव पातकं नैव तिष्ठति। कर्मक्षयो भवेत्तस्य यस्य तुष्टो महेश्वराः॥:
The list of Jyotirlingam  & their location is as below:-

1 - SOMNATH ( Gujrat - Veraval, Saurashtra )
2- MALLIKĀRJUNA SWĀMI (Andhra Pradesh - Srisailam )
3- MAHAKALESHWAR (Madhya Pradesh – Ujjain )
4- OMKARESHWAR (Madhya Pradesh – Omkareshwar )
5- KEDARNATH (Uttarakhand - Kedarnath )
6- BHIMASHANKAR (Maharashtra- Bhimashankar )
7- KASHI VISHWANATH TEMPLE (Uttar Pradesh - Varanasi )
8 -TRIMBAKESHWAR SHIVA TEMPLE (Maharashtra- Trimbakeshwar, Near Nashik )
9- NAGESHVARA JYOTIRLINGA (Gujarat - Near Jamnagar )
10 - BAIDYANATH TEMPLE (Jharkhand – Deoghar )
11- RAMESHWAR (Tamil Nadu – Rameswaram )
12- GHRISHNESHWAR (Maharashtra - Ellora )

End of Page